Monetary Standards

Tuesday 16th of March 2010 | By: Administrator | Views: 12773 | Comments: 0 | Rating: 3 Star Content3 Star Content3 Star Content3 Star Content3 Star Content |  


The way the currency of a country is issued, managed and regulated called the monetary system of the country. Monetary standards may be of different kinds.

1. Monometallism:
If one metal is the ultimate measure of value in the country standard will be metallic. If one metal is the standard that monometallism. If that metal is gold it will be called gold standard similarly if that is silver it will be called silver standard.

2. Bi-Metallism:
When two metals are standard metals, monetary standard will be called bimetallism. Under this system a ratio is fixed by law between the values of these two metals.

3. Paper Standard:
Where the money of the country is not convertible directly or indirectly into any metal, it will be called paper standard. Monetary Standards

4. Exchange Standard:
If any country keeps the value of standard coins fixed in terms of some foreign money for purposes of foreign trade, the monetary standard is called exchange standard.

Rate this Page:
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Ratings: 0 Stars - 1 Vote(s)
  • Add New Comment


      Please enter your name

      Please enter your email address

      Please enter your web address (Optional)

      Please enter your highly valued comments
    Enter Code
      Human verification code (Required)
  • Your Name

     (27th of November 2014)

    No comments have been posted on this page yet..... Be the first one to share your opinion!